LaMere Wins, Four Pioneers Earn All-Region

LaMere Wins, Four Pioneers Earn All-Region

WINNECONNE, Wis. – The Pioneers competed at the NCAA Regional meet Saturday. The UW-Oshkosh hosted meet saw two Pioneer men and two Pioneer women in the top-35, earning All-Region status.

Chelsey Heiden ran with the lead pack for most of the race and crossed the finish in 9th place with a time of 22:07 for the six kilometer course. Katie Wardinski followed close behind with a 26th place finish in 22:34.

The Pioneer men claimed the individual title for the 7th time since 2000, more than any other school in the Midwest region. Ian LaMere ran most of the race by himself successfully defending his title with a time of 24:02 for the eight kilometer course. Senior captain Matt Wubben earned All-Region honors for the first time in his career with an 11th place finish in 25:00.

Also competing for the women race were Hannah Ihlenfeldt (65th/23:20), Caitlyn Ifft (95th/23:53), Camille Felton (143rd/24:42), Janelle Ferguson (171st/25:18), and Anna Drazkowski (212th/26:41). The women placed 11th out of 38 teams with 337 points, just ahead of conference rivals UW-River Falls and UW-Stevens Point.

The men placed 6th out of 33 teams with 202 points. Completing the team for the Pioneers were Zach Lee (37th/25:42), Kyle Riege (71st/26:22), Brian Rivers (82nd/26:28), Walker Rynes (92nd/26:39), and Kyle Herbrand (112th/26:59).

Currently Heiden, LaMere and Wubben are qualified for next weekend's National Championships. The men's team along with Wardinski will have to wait until the official qualifier are announced to find out if they will be participating. Qualifiers to the NCAA Championships will be announced online Sunday, November 13 at noon.