LaMere breaks record, repeats as WIAC champ

LaMere breaks record, repeats as WIAC champ

STEVENS POINT, Wis. – Ian LaMere repeated as WIAC Conference Champion in record fashion Saturday afternoon. LaMere pulled away early from the field and ran a solo effort for the 8 kilometer course. He crossed the finish in 23:56, the fastest winning 8K time in WIAC History. This marks the 8th time since 2000 that the Pioneers have claimed the men's individual title, more than the next four WIAC teams combined.

LaMere led the team to a third place finish with 100 points. UW-Eau Claire won the men's title with 41 points as UW-LaCrosse claimed the number two spot with 50 points.

Senior Captain Matt Wubben was the Pioneer's second finisher crossing in 25:24 and earning All-Conference honors with his 18th place finish. Walker Rynes finished 25th with a time of 25:42, Zach Lee was 28th in 25:48, and Brian Rivers placing 34th in 25:59.

Also competing for the Pioneers were Kyle Herbrand (36th/26:01), Cole Shurbert-Hetzel (41st/26:07), Logan Steinhoff (53rd/26:32), Timothy Pitcock (60th/26:45), Matthew Smith (64th/26:53), Kyle Riege (66th/26:55), and Mitch Frager (71st/27:07).

On the women's side Chelsey Heiden earned All-Conference honors for the second year in a row with a 12th place finish. Heiden crossed the finish in 22:32, Katie Wardinski followed in 29th with a time of 23:13, Caitlyn Ifft 46th in 23:49, and Hannah Ihlenfeldt 51st in 24:04.

The women finished 6th with 155 points while UW- River Falls finished 5th in 150 points and UW-Stout 4th in 122 points. Claiming the team title with 26 points was UW-La Crosse, second was UW-Oshkosh with 55 points and UW-Eau Claire in third with 61 points.

Also finishing for the Pioneers were Camille Felton (59th/24:40), Janelle Ferguson (74th/25:34), Anna Drazkowski (80th/26:09), Johanna Meister (87th/26:59), Mariah Brown (88th/27:10), and Danielle Nelson (90th/28:10).

The Pioneers will compete at home next Saturday in the Pioneer Gender Equality Meet.