Eight Pioneers Qualify to NCAA Championships

Eight Pioneers Qualify to NCAA Championships

Five women and three men qualified to the 2017 NCAA Division III Outdoor Track and Field Championships.

The women's 4x400m consisting of Megan Marotz, Briana Iwans, Devan Montgomery, and Amber Williams. The foursome's best time of 3:50.77 came at the North Central Dr. Keeler Invitational on May 12th. The Pioneer relay goes into the meet ranked 15th out of 16 teams.

Williams will be participating in three other events. In her final national meet, the 13-time All-American goes in ranked third in the long jump, eigth in the triple jump, and tied for ninth in the 100m hurdles.

Indoor Pentathlon All-American Marotz will also be participating in the Heptathlon. The Heptathlon Conference champion earned her best mark at the Augustana Invite with a score of 4525. She is ranked ninth heading into the National meet.

Freshman thrower Rachel Beuthin qualified in the shot put. Her best mark of 13.81m thrown at the Augustana Invite puts her tied for 18th.

Indoor All-American Kyle Whaley will contest the shot put where he sits in sixth with is 17.09m personal best.

Conference champ Cody Faust heads to the national meet for the first time. He qualified with his school record 6454 point performance at the WIAC Championships.

Two-time defending 10,000m national champion Ian LaMere heads in with the best mark of the season in the event. He will also defend his national title in the 5,000m where he also has the fastest time going in.

The championships will be held May 25-27 at the SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio.