LaMere Runs Historic 5,000m

LaMere Runs Historic 5,000m

It's been 23 years since a Division III runner has run a 5,000m race as fast as Ian LaMere did on Friday.  LaMere competed in the second heat of invitational 5,000m race at the Iowa State Classic. He followed the pacer for the first 3,000m meters and took control of the race. LaMere lead the remainder of the race until the final meters to finish second with a time of 13:54.88, less than two seconds from the all-time best time of 13:53.17 set by Dan Mayer of North Central in 1994. The performance earned LaMere National Athlete of the Week recognition by the USTFCCCA (United States Track and Field/Cross Country Coaches Association).

Click here to watch the final moments of LaMere's race.

LaMere returned the next day to perform pacing duties at the UW-Platteville Invitational. The home meet saw 14 teams competing at the non-scored event.
Amber Williams highlighted the Invitational winning the 60-meter hurdles, breaking the school record for the second weekend in a row. Williams ran 9.09 which ranks her third in the WIAC honor roll.

Williams also competed in the Long Jump finishing second with a season best leap of 5.61m (18-5).

Megan Marotz ran away with the win in the 200m dash. Marotz ran a personal best time of 26.20, just shy of the 26.01 school record set by Mary Johnson in 2006.

Ben Rhode finished third in the 800m with a time of 1:56.79. After suffering an injury last year, Rhode has made a comeback and looks to improve on his seventh place finish at last year's WIAC Championships.

Chelsey Heiden ran away from the field in the mile beating the field by 9 seconds. Heiden improved her personal best to 5:12.44.

Zach Lee also ran a personal best in the mile finishing fourth in a time of 4:21.18.

Walker Rynes ran a big personal best cutting 33 seconds from his previous best to run 15:09.72 in the 5,000m. Rynes effort earned him third place.

Charlie Gifford finished third in the 60m hurdles. Gifford ran 8.46 and is currently ranked 6th in the WIAC honor roll.

Matt Dwyer won the pole vault with a 4.88m (16-0) clearance on his first attempt.

Brittany Ehlen finished second in the pole vault with a 3.40m (11-1.75) clearance on her first attempt.

Haley Nelson came away with the win beating teammate Abigail Merriam on misses. Both Pioneers cleared 1.55m (5-1).

Noah Steiner finished third in the high jump with a third attempt clearance at 1.99m (6-6.25).

Kyle Whaley finished third in the shot put with a 16.15m (53-0) toss in the final round.

The women's 4x400m relay came away with the win in the final event of the evening. Briana Iwans, Devan Montgomery, Kayla Schneider and Amber Williams got the baton around in 4:06.28 beating the competition by three seconds.

The Pioneers will be competing at University of Dubuque Friday to close their regular season.