Pioneer Football Garners a Program Record 15 All-WIAC Honors

Pioneer Football Garners a Program Record 15 All-WIAC Honors

The University of Wisconsin-Platteville football garnered a program record 15 all-Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference honors on Wednesday, announced by the league office.

The Pioneers received five first-team, seven second-team and three honorable mention accolades. The second most awards earned by UW-Platteville came in 1985 with 14, including three first-team, six second-team and five honorable mention.

On the offensive side of the ball, senior lineman Tyler Miller and junior wide receiver Ryley Bailey earned first-team honors.  Miller started eight games and helped the Pioneer offense lead the WIAC in points scored and passing. Bailey led the receiving core with 70 catches for 849 yards and 10 touchdowns, and caught a season-best 11 passes for 191 yards and two touchdowns versus UW-Eau Claire. A trio of sophomores, Tony Berry, Bryce Corrigan and Trevor Whitehead, earned second-team honors, while fellow sophomore Brian Lurquin and senior Hank McIvor took honorable mention accolades.

The Pioneer defense was led by seniors Corey Marks, Ryan McWethy and Nick Snyder who all received first-team honors.  Marks earned his third-straight first-team award and became the sixth Pioneer to receive three-consecutive first-team honors. The lineman from New Lenox, Ill., recorded 30.5 tackles and 26 unassisted. It is Snyders and McWethy's second-straight first-team honor. McWethy led the team with 64 tackles and recorded a pair of interceptions, while Snyder registered 37.5 tackles and a forced fumble. 

Juniors Bronzun Kyles, Alex Schaefer and Dave Daino and senior Tommy Magna all earned second-team honors. Sophomore linebacker Jacob Zilbar garnered honorable mention, while junior wide receiver Paul Reit was named to the all-sportsmanship team.

UW-Platteville finished the season ranked 12th in the nation and posted its best record since 1976 at 8-2.