Pioneers Recognized at WIAC Centennial Banquet

Pioneers Recognized at WIAC Centennial Banquet


Three of the most recognizable names in UW-Platteville athletics history were inducted into the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Hall of Fame Saturday evening during the league's Centennial Banquet at the Alliant Energy Center.

Patricia Collins, Rob Jeter and Bo Ryan were honored as part of the first-ever Hall of Fame class as the conference kicked off its 100 year celebration.

The WIAC elected to establish a Hall of Fame to coincide with the conference’s celebration of its 100th anniversary which will take place during the 2012-13 academic year.

In announcing the class, WIAC Commissioner Gary Karner noted how difficult the selection process was given the 100-year history and incomparable success of the conference. “Quite frankly, there are dozens, if not hundreds, of individuals deserving of this honor. This is just the beginning. Therefore, it is our intention to induct future Hall of Fame classes every three years with the ultimate goal of recognizing those student-athletes, coaches, administrators, officials and others whose contributions and achievements have established and solidified the WIAC’s status as the most accomplished Division III conference in NCAA history,” added Karner.

Patricia Collins began women’s athletics at UW-Platteville in 1966 and served as the Pioneers’ first women’s athletic director from 1972-84. She also served as the head coach for women’s volleyball (1966-84), badminton (1966-84) and women’s track and field (1966-80).

Rob Jeter was a member of UW-Platteville’s men’s basketball team from 1988-91 and led the squad to the 1991 NCAA Division III national title, including selection to the 1991 All-Final Four team. He was an All-WSUC first team selection in 1990 and 1991 after earning honorable mention status in 1989. Jeter also served as an assistant coach on the Pioneer men’s basketball team from 1995-98 and helped guide the squad to a 108-6 overall record, two NCAA Division III championships and four WSUC first-place finishes.

Bo Ryan served as UW-Platteville’s head men’s basketball coach from 1985-99 and amassed a 353-76 record (.823 winning percentage) with four NCAA Division III national titles, nine NCAA Division III championship appearances and eight WSUC/WIAC first-place finishes. He was a four-time NABC NCAA Division III national coach of the year and six-time WSUC/WIAC Coach of the Year. In 2012, Ryan was selected the WIAC Men’s Basketball All-Time Co-Coach in conjunction with the conference’s Centennial Celebration.

The WIAC was formed as the Inter-Normal Athletic Conference of Wisconsin was formed in July, 1913, and a constitution and by-laws were adopted on December 20, 1913. Charter schools included La Crosse, Milwaukee, Oshkosh, Platteville, River Falls, Stevens Point, Superior and Whitewater. Stout Institute joined the confernce in 1914 and Eau Claire joined in 1917. Milwaukee withdrew from the conference in 1964, the same year the league was reorganized as the Wisconsin State University Conference.

The Wisconsin Women's Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WWIAC) was established in 1971 and is comprised of Carthage College, Eau Claire, La Crosse, UW-Madison, Oshkosh, UW-Parkside, Platteville, River Falls, Stevens Point, Stout, Superior and Whitewater. Milwaukee, Carroll College, UW-Green Bay and Marquette University were also conference members during the 1970s. The WWIAC and the WSUC merged to become the WIAC in 1997.

All-Time Teams

During the centennial celebration, the all-time teams were also honored. Those in attendance were introduced and the entire teams were scrolled across a screen in front of the more than 1400 people in attendance.

Listed are all UW-Platteville student-athletes selected to the teams. The entire list of teams can be found at the WIAC website.

Men's Basketall
Merrill Brunson
Ben Hoffmann
Bo Ryan (Co-Coach)
Men's Cross Country
Ryan Kleimenhagen (pictured)
Tyler Sigl (pictured)

Chris Charnish
Mike Hintz (pictured)

Men's Soccer
B.J. Gottschlich (pictured)
Jim Jianette

Men's Swimming & Diving
Tom Olson

Men's Track & Field
Paul Conlin (pictured)
Ryan Kleimenhagen (pictured)
Chip Schneider

Women's Track & Field
Marcia Taddy
Keri Wells