Trio named Athletes of the Year

Trio named Athletes of the Year

PLATTEVILLE, Wis – On Tuesday, May, 9, the University of Wisconsin-Platteville held its 2016-17 Athletic Honors Evening.

Three Pioneers were chosen as Athletes of the Year: Amber Williams, for her success in track and field; Dan Arnold, for his success in football; and Ian LaMere, for his success in both cross country and track and field. In addition to excelling on a conference level, the three athletes shined on regional and national stages.

Williams, a senior from Milwaukee, Wisconsin, claimed All-American placement in triple jump and long jump at the 2017 NCAA Division III Indoor Championships. She won conference championship titles in long jump, triple jump and the 100m hurdles, in addition to being named Midwest Regional Field Athlete of the Year for indoor track and field and WIAC Indoor Field Performer of the Championships Meet. Williams was also presented a Record-Breaking Performance award.

Arnold, a senior wide receiver from Fargo, North Dakota, caught 65 passes for 1,176 yards and 16 touchdowns this past season. He was named to the first team All-WIAC and was selected as WIAC Offensive Player of the Year in addition to becoming only the ninth player in Pioneer history to earn first team All-American honors.

LaMere, a senior from Green Bay, won the NCAA III national cross country championship race in the fall, repeating the national title he won in 2015.

He currently holds the fastest 10,000m DIII time this season and the second-fastest 5,000m DIII time in the country. He won the WIAC cross country meet with the fastest winning time in meet history, breaking the record he set as a junior. LaMere won the NCAA Midwest Region cross country championship, the WIAC cross country championship, and was named NCAA All-American, Regional Track Athlete of the Year and more. LaMere was also presented the Pioneer Performance of the Year award as well as a Record-Breaking Performance award.

Chelsey Heiden, a senior from Greendale, Wisconsin, was named the Patricia A. Doyle Scholar-Athlete for her success as an environmental engineering and environmental science major as well as her achievements in cross country and track and field.

Greg Stribling, a senior from Greenfield, Wisconsin, received the Male Scholar-Athlete award for his success as a software engineering and mathematics major as well as his achievements on the track and field team.

Other award winners included:

Award of Thanks: Tim Deis, faculty athletic representative

Assistant Coach of the Year: Andres Young, cross country and track and field

Comeback of the Year: Men's soccer team's defeat over North Central (Illinois)

NCAA Woman of the Year: Megan Marotz, track and field

Pioneer Career Achievement: Jessica Butzen, softball; Kyle Whaley, track and field; Will Pretto, men's soccer; Cory Vaassen, men's basketball; Morgan Hartman, women's basketball; Tom Kelly, football

Community Service Award: Women's basketball team

Pioneer Spirit Award: Seth Kaufmann, football

Upset of the Year: Pioneer wrestling team

Record-Breaking Performances: Ian LaMere, cross country; Wyatt Thompson, football; Allison Prestegaard, women's basketball; Amber Williams, track and field

Break Through Performance: Josh Moses, baseball

Moment of the Year: Coach Mike Emendorfer (football) becoming the most winning football coach with 90 wins


Written by: Amanda Bertolozzi, Writer/Editor, Communications, 608-342-7121,